Aventura en Colombia: The Next Phase

Our Colombian adoption adventure has entered the next and most difficult phase.  Last Saturday morning at 4:00 am, I left my wife, our son Grayson, and our new daughter Marcela, and got on a plane and came home.  It was the most difficult thing I have done in the whole process.  We knew this was coming, that this was part of the deal.  I have to be back in the States with much to do at church, and the adoption is going to take several more weeks to finalize.

People have asked, “How long is it going to take?” And THAT is the question.  Marcela’s case was presented to the court last week on Wednesday.  The judge, by law, has seven days to admit the case into the court system.  That means late this week.  Then he has 10 working days to sign the adoption decree.  BUT, yesterday was a holiday in Colombia and next Monday is a holiday in Colombia (Colombia has lots of holidays).  In addition, if the judge asks for any additional information about the case, the 10 working days time frame goes out the window.  So we could be in for a long wait…OR…the judge could decide to admit the case at any time and sign the adoption decree at any time.  And so WE ARE PRAYING.  I would invite and ask you to join us in praying for a quick process.

My prayer is this, “Lord, God,  please move our adoption case to the front and center of this judge’s attention and may your Holy Spirit move him to compassion to sign the adoption decree today.”

Yes, TODAY. This is my daily prayer.

My wife and kids are alone in another country.  Colombia is a beautiful land and the people are warm and friendly.  But it is not our land nor are they our people.  Julie and I FaceTime every day and exchange texts.  Yes, I am thankful for technology.  I am also grateful for the many family and friends that are sending my wife emails of encouragement.  She loves it. If you haven’t figured it our by now, I have an amazing wife!  Few and far between are women who love Fantasy Football, NASCAR, and will go live (indefinitely) in another country without their husband.  She is a remarkable lady and I am blessed to have her in my life.

Blessed.

Blessed with a wonderful wife.

And now, blessed with FOUR wonderful children.

2 responses to “Aventura en Colombia: The Next Phase”

  1. Kim Barnes says :

    We are praying, praying, praying for your adoption process !!! And I’ve enjoyed Julie’s emails so much ! Who knew she was so funny ! And can’t wait to meet sweet Marcela in person ! I’m believing sooner rather than later ! Thank you God for your almighty hand all over this process!

  2. Tina says :

    I keep looking at your pictures everyday and I cry everytime. Please know we are praying for your whole family and that you are all united very quickly. Thank you for sharing every step of this huge Blessing with all of us. God is Good…..All the Time.

Leave a Reply

