Yes…we are adopting!

Image

My wife and I made the announcement to our church family this morning that we have begun the process of adopting a daughter from the country of Colombia.  We are tremendously excited and we took time on Mother’s Day, with my wife joining me on stage, to tell everyone about this very Holy Spirit led journey.

We have three biological children and as such thought for many years that adoption was something for people who could not have children “of their own.”  We were sadly wrong.  Families are formed in all sorts of ways and adoption is one of those ways.  There is a fundamental axiom that every child deserves to have a mother and a father – a family.  But every child does not have a family.  As a pastor and a Christian I have had to reconcile this fact and my role in being a part of the solution.  As Julie and I shared our story with our church this morning, I highlighted four realities that impacted me greatly and led me to the point of saying YES to adoption.

1.  The overwhelming need.  There are somewhere between 150 and 200 million orphans in the world.  Please take a moment to let that number sink in.  There are over 100,000 children just in this country waiting to be adopted.  In Colombia, the country God has led us to, there are over 500,000 children who need a forever family.  I came to a point where these kinds of numbers overwhelmed and broke me.

2.  The Great Commission and adoption.  We are commanded by our savior to go and make disciples of all nations (Matt. 28:19-20).  This is not an option.  What better way to make a disciple than to parent a child.  What a better way to make a disciple of another nation than to parent a child from another nation.  Because of the Great Commission, we made the intentional decision to adopt internationally.

3.  The Gospel and adoption.  The Gospel is all about Jesus.  In his own words in Matthew 18, Jesus said, “And whoever welcomes one child like this in My name welcomes Me.”  I don’t understand exactly how this works (and that is okay, I am comfortable with the mystery) but there is some sort of link between Jesus and children.  I came to a point where I could not separate a child who needs a family from the heart of Jesus and the heart of the Gospel.

4.  The Heart of God and adoption.  God had one and only begotten son.  But He did not stop there.  God adopted me.  And if you are a Christian, He adopted you.  You are a son or daughter of the King.  I did a study of adoption in Scripture and found numerous references to the adoptive heart and actions of God in the books of Romans, Galatians, and Ephesians.  God is pro-adoption and I am glad.  If I am going to be a believer that follows after the heart of God, I am going to have to be pro-adoption as well.

And so there you have it.  My thoughts, my journey…so far.  I look forward to sharing more from time to time on this blog about our adoption journey!

One response to “Yes…we are adopting!”

  1. scottsanders8 says :

    I’m so excited to hear that you all are starting an adoption fund at Grand. I pray that the Great Commission is carried out in a major way through this fund!

Leave a Reply

