We have officially entered my favorite time of the year!  I love the season from October – January.  It all starts with the cooling of the weather, the changing of the leaves, and then the first of the big three holidays: Halloween.  I loved Halloween as a kid growing up but I think I love it more today because I have kids of my own.   I love to watch them carve pumpkins, put together their costumes, and go scavenging for candy.  And I get a special kind of joy out of watching my teenagers serve in our church’s annual Fall Festival.  Kids always make things more fun.  Halloween bleeds (pun intended) right into the Thanksgiving season.  I love Thanksgiving because it is a holiday like no other.  Positioned right in the middle of the week, it always means an extra couple of days off of work and the kids get the same break from school.  There is just a special “feel” in the air during the days of Thanksgiving.  In recent years I have come to have the new blessing of working with our church to give away 1,200 turkey dinners and to bless thousands in the River Valley.  When I think of Thanksgiving, I think of family and the enormous blessing of God in my life.  And of course, we are no sooner out of Thanksgiving until we are into Christmas (I actually saw my first Christmas tree of the season last week at Kohl’s).  Christmas is special.  The lights, the smells, the crisp air, the music, the food, family, and Jesus.  It just doesn’t get any better than Christmas.  I’m sure I’ll have something more to say about Christmas in the coming weeks so I’ll hold off for now.  It’s a short run from the festivities of Christmas to the promise of the New Year.  It’s important to take time to reflect, refocus, and renew your life.  That’s what New Year is all about – the future.

It really is the most wonderful time of the year and it seems to fly by each year much too quickly.  Let me encourage you to take time to make time.

Slow down.

Breathe.

Take a walk.

Play a game with your kids.

Listen to music (I recommend Andy Williams).

Eat a special dinner with your spouse.

Go see a good movie.

Worship.

Leave a Reply

